Happy Mother’s Day!

Someone gave me an amazing book as a Mother’s Day gift, and it was titled “Encouraging Words for a Mother’s Heart.”  In it is a collection of heart-warming poems and sayings. Among the ones that tugged at my heartstrings, the one below also seemed more in line with how I raised my daughter.

A Mother’s Creed

I will worry less about my children and trust God more.

I will commit them into the Lord’s care.

I will love my children unconditionally and let them know I do.

I will believe  in them constantly and encourage them often.

I will pray for them daily.

I will teach them responsibility for their own actions.

I will try to be an example of Godliness, but I will be unafraid to let them see my faults.

I will give them generous doses of laughter interspersed with fun.

I will release them when they are grown, but they will always be my own.

—-Rebecca Barlow Jordan

Leave a Reply

