Denouement: The Final Resolution of the Movie “Wild”

LatMovie_Wildely, I have been disappointed with stories and movies telling me the final resolution (denouement) instead of showing me as the rest of the movie or story did. The movie/story ends (resolution), but the loose ends are not tidied up until the denouement.

An example of denouement is Shakespeare’s The Tragedy of Macbeth. The resolution is that Macduff kills Macbeth, but the denouement occurs when Malcolm TELLS the audience his plans to restore Scotland into its former organized society before Macbeth turned the once-peaceful kingdom into a murder mayhem.

Denouement–[dey-noo-mahn]

2. the place in the plot at which this occurs.
3. the outcome or resolution of a doubtful series of occurrences.
In Reese Witherspoon’s Wild, the story is slow in picking up, but when it revves up, the plot progresses quite suspensefully. Any movie that features a mother and/or father dying will see me crying my eyes out, and I cried my fill at this movie when Reese’s character loses her on-screen mother (Laura Dern).
Anyway, I am impressed with Reese’s performance, having seen lots of her movies. However, I am disappointed with the hurried ending where the producer decides to tell me the denouement rather than show me the final ending. The resolution is that Reese, playing the role of real-life Cheryl Strayed, completes hiking the Pacific Crest Trail without prior experience amid applause from fellow hikers. She tidies up her derailed and self-destructive life into the semblance of a happy ending, which is true denouement.
I wish the producer had seen fit to show me clips of the new family rather than telling me about it.
Overall, a great performance by all!
Leave a Reply

