Happy MLK Day! See “Selma” and See Your Past, Your Present, and Your Future

I have seen a good ten movies or more in the theaters in the last four weeks, and I had not anticipated any of them as much as Movie_Selma“Selma,” for obvious reasons. Elsewhere in this blog, I had mentioned that recently, I had taken to waiting for the credits to glide to the end because I never know whose name will surprise me in the line-up.

I knew Oprah was among the sleuth of famous producers and directors for “Selma.” Still, I was in for a heart-happy shock when I saw another famous name in the mix: BRAD PITT!

Yes, according to The Wrap, Angelina Jolie’s husband was already a producer of the movie under his Plan B company, and Oprah (under her equally famous Harpo) joined him. I actually thought it was the other way around.

It is noteworthy that prominent Nigerian- and foreign-born actors featured in the lead: David Oyelowo as our beloved (and my father’s name sake) Martin Luther King Jr., Carmen Ejogo as Coretta Scott-King, and Lorraine Toussaint as Amelia Boynton Robinson.

Another pleasant surprise was the last song in the movie, “Glory,” a collaboration between Common (who played James Bevel in the movie) and John Legend, a song already nominated for the Golden Globe, and a song that paid tribute to Rosa Park, Michael Brown of Ferguson, and MLK’s efforts and leadership in Selma.

I saw “Selma.” I gave me a chance to appreciate the sacrifices of our Civil Rights heroes mentioned and implied in the movies (MLK, Coretta Scott-King, Andrew Young, Hosea Williams, David Abernathy, John Lewis, Annie Lee Cooper, James Bevel, and a host of others who fought the fearful fight).

The movie gave me a chance to appreciate the present liberties we enjoy. Those sacrifices include life, safety, finance, and much more. It gave me a chance to look forward to my future, hope we make strides in safeguarding and preserving the lives of our black youth, and change the laws that condone the unforgivable acts of taking a black life.

Between 1999 and 2014, 76 or more unarmed black people have been killed while in police custody. I look forward to the future when the law will put an end to this atrocity.

Leave a Reply

