Taking Stock of Half the Year: January to June 2016

This has been an incredible year so far.

20160128_075239

 

 

Breakfast with 2015 Grant Sponsors in January 2016: I walked into the Katy ISD building to find a life-size picture of myself. That stopped me in my track. It was a humbling and profound moment.

 

 

 

 

NTCE_CONFERENCE_JAN2016

 

NCTE (Texas): I was one of two teachers lucky to attend an all-expense-paid National Council of Teachers of English conference in Austin with Katy district-level coordinators. (Second from the right, bottom row.)

 

20160128_093832

WHATCE: A few weeks after that, I attended the local conference of the West Houston Area Council of Teachers of English workshop.

(Dispay of Grant-funded resources and student work samples at an event)

 

 

 

 

Celebration reception for 2016 Grant Recipients: I walked into the Katy ISD Imagination Grant reception in May to find another life-size picture of me. I have come to accept these chance meetings of me sprouting in unexpected places and times. (Life-size picture of me stands on the floor of the reception hall. Picture on the right is displayed on the screen of me–with yellow feather–receiving the Grant check in May 2016.)

2016_KatyGrant_Recipients

 

 

Houston Chronicle: I was interviewed in late June for the Community section of the Houston Chronicle newspaper. (Fourth row from the front, second from the left)

–Picture was taken with other Imagination Grant recipients for 2016/2017.

 

 

Thank you, Janet Theis!! Thanks to Dr. Steele, Lydia Dennis, Amanda Palmer, William H. Rhodes, and everyone who has helped me to get to this phase in my career with Katy ISD.

I am excited for what will unfold for the rest of the year!

Leave a Reply

